Adeetee Bhide
Nov 9, 2021

--

Thank you for this. However, I will add that not all first generation kids have these experiences. Although I am first generation, my parents moved here for advanced degrees and white collar jobs, so they did have a lot of experience buying property, with 401Ks, etc. that they could thankfully teach me. I did relate with the accent issues though. I wonder if some of these are the experiences of immigrants, but others are more generally experiences of the working class. For example, I know people whose families have been here for generations, but they were the first to go to college. They had similar experiences with FAFSA and 401K that you did.

--

--

Adeetee Bhide

I’m currently living out my childhood dream of being an author on Medium. I write about whatever catches my fancy…mainly politics, social justice, and TV shows.